Skip to content

I Want the Pig

2 December 2006

For some reason, I’ve been thinking a lot about how delicious pork is. Maybe it was the bacon I bought a few weeks ago. I was going to make Brussels sprouts with bacon and caramelized onions, but I never got around to it. The Brussels sprouts sat yellowing in my vegetable crisper with some limp carrots, liquifying lettuce and several bags of unidentifiable sludge until I finally deemed the whole lot inedible and tossed it to make way for Thanksgiving leftovers.

So anyway, I had a hermetically sealed package of bacon that was still usable, even though I had no sprouts. Now I can’t even remember what I used half the pack for. There was slicing into lardons and rendering of fat, but by now I’ve totally forgotten what the recipe was. (This is now going to nag at me until I go insane or remember what the recipe was.) I do remember it was delicious though. How could it be anything but?

Everywhere I look, people seem to be eating pork — from my formerly vegetarian friend Kelly to Mandydale, whose photos documenting her 30 Days of Pork prove her to be a woman after my own heart.

So, I guess I’ll leave you with my favorite pork-related anecdote. Shortly after my friend Emma’s fiancé moved from Morocco to New York, the two of them went to dinner. After they’d studied the menu for a few minutes, Emma asked him what he wanted to eat. Nice Muslim boy that he was, he answered, “I want the pig.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

